Next Up: Steeplechase

Posted: August 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

So now that I’ve completed the 63 mile Gran Fondo, I’m thinking of different ways I can train for my September bike ride. I’m actually just getting more interested in my fitness and different ways to have fun while doing it. So I just decided to sign up for the Radnor Red Run Steeplechase next week. I’ve actually never run a 5k before, and I’ve only started running a couple of weeks ago after my March knee surgery. However I’ve been working on my leg strength and making sure to stretch, so I think I’ll be alright.

The steeplechase should actually be more fun than a regular 5k because this is an “off-road” 5k complete with hurdles & water! Since I’ve never run a 5k course, and have only started doing 5k on a treadmill, I’m hoping to do this sub 45 minutes. We’ll see!

In other good news, I’m closing in on my $500 fundraising goal for my September ride. If you haven’t you can still donate at the Harbor to the Bay website. Thanks to everyone who has already donated- you’re great!

Leave a Reply

